President: Kalie Pawlik

Kalie Pic.jpg

Kalie Pawlik is an Arizona native and a senior studying Political Science and Gender and Women’s Studies at the University of Arizona. She has participated in political work since 2015, most recently, in Tucson, Arizona as a Regional Field Director for Clean Energy for a Healthy Arizona, Yes for Proposition 127. When Kalie turned turned 18, she signed up to become a Precinct Committee person immediately, then in November of 2016 was elected to State Committee in Legislative District 17 and has remained on State Committee since then. In spring of 2017, Kalie was elected to Vice President of Membership on the Young Democrats of Arizona Board and was reelected in spring of 2018. Additionally, Kalie has been on the board of Young Democrats of Pima County since fall of 2017. She has worked on races from city propositions to presidential elections. Kalie hopes to continue to help elect Democrats in the state after college and eventually run for office. On the board of YDAZ, she is fighting for clean air, women’s and LGBTQ+ rights, and well-funded public education for Arizona’s students.

Executive Vice President: Sage Taylor

image1 (1).jpeg

Sage Taylor is the Executive Vice President of Young Democrats of Arizona and the President of Northern Arizona University Young Democrats. Growing up in Prescott, Arizona, Sage started her career by being an assistant at three different law practices. At NAU, Sage is majoring in Political Science with a minor in Criminology. After multiple campaign internships and a job as Lead Canvasser for Planned Parenthood Advocates of Arizona, Sage was elected to her current positions at 17 years old. Sage looks forward to the work that YDAZ will do for the state, and is excited for what is to come for Young Democrats everywhere.

National Committeeperson: Jesse Avalos


Jesse serves as the President of the ASU Young Democrats. Through this, his duties include organizing members, managing meetings, and serving as the chief executive for the ASU Chapter. His previous experience includes being Treasurer and Vice President of the ASU Young Democrats, along with working with numerous campaigns across the valley. He currently serves on the board of the Maricopa County Democratic Party and is the National Committee Member of the Arizona Young Democrats.

Vice President of Membership: Kyle DeLashmutt


Kyle DeLashmutt is a Sophomore Finance and Accountancy Major at ASU and is currently the VP of Membership of ASU Young Democrats. He became involved with Democratic politics to create positive change in the community through sound policy. Last election, he interned for a congressional race and wants to continue campaign work in the future. His focus is on policy, with healthcare policy as his highest priority.

Vice President of Finance: David Huff


David Huff is a Junior at Arizona State University studying Political Science and Biological Sciences. David is originally from Southern California, and moved out of state to Arizona during his freshman year of the Fall of 2016. He started his journey of public service as a 2017 fellow for the nonprofit group Organizing For Action, focusing on campus grassroots organizing to highlight campus issues of sexual assault and the LGBT community. Next, he worked as an intern and eventually became the Finance Director for Kevin Patterson for Phoenix City Council from May 2017-July 2017, while also interning for Congressman Ruben Gallego’s district office. Since then, David has worked as an intern and had staffed numerous campaigns such as Stanton for Arizona and Congressman Mark Takano’s re-election campaign. Currently David is a political consultant for the Arizona Legislative District 28 Democrats working to elect Representative Kelli Butler, Aaron Lieberman and Christine Marsh to the state legislature. Currently he also serves as the Political Director for the ASU Young Democrats, Vice President of Finance for the Young Democrats of Arizona, and as the West Regional Director for College Democrats of America’s 2018-2019 National Council.

Secretary: Emma Burns


Emma Burns is sixteen-years old and in her final year at both Tri-City College Prep High School and Yavapai College. She is a founding member and the Vice-Chair of the Young Democrats of the Prescott Area. Emma began campaigning during the 2016 Presidential election and is currently the Campaign Coordinator for Jo Craycraft, an LD1 State Senate candidate. Emma is passionate about funding public education, protecting federal land reserves, and ensuring a bright future for young Arizonans.

Treasurer: Bryan Besaw


THE statewide young democrat. Bryan first got involved in politics with the McClintock High School Young Democrats in 2012 and worked as a volunteer for the Phoenix City Council District 6 election in 2013. He has since worked on multiple campaigns and has taken several leadership positions within different chapters including President of the MHS Young Democrats, Vice President of the Northern Arizona University Young Democrats, and Finance Director of the Maricopa County Young Democrats. He is also a precinct committeeperson for the Legislative District 18 Democrats.